Classical Singing

Faculty Faculty of Vocal Studies 
Department Department of Solo Singing #1; Department of Solo Singing #2 
Available degrees Bachelor – 4 years full-time study, 240 ECTS. Master – 2 years full-time study, 120 ECTS. Assistantship – 2 years full-time study, 132 ECTS.
Curriculum and skills obtained Curriculum and skills obtained Curriculum and skills obtained

*coming soon
Achievements and awards. Over the last two years, more than 60 students have become laureates and certificate winners of international and all-Russian singing competitions and festivals including competitions named after P.I. Tchaikovsky, M.I. Glinka, N. Shpiller (“Masterpieces of Russian Music”). The best students annually go abroad to take part in master classes at European conservatories. More than 15 graduates of the faculty are successfully employed at musical theaters of Germany, France, and Italy. Many students are holders of scholarships of the Muslim Magomaev Cultural and Musical Heritage Foundation, the Presidential Grants Foundation.

Teaching staff. Training in the Academic Singing program is provided by two departments of Solo Singing. High-quality training of Bachelors is provided by vocal art specialists including PhDs, People’s Artists of the Russian Federation, Honored Artists of the Russian Federation, Honored Art Workers of the Russian Federation, Honored Cultural Workers of the Russian Federation and Honored Workers of Higher Education of the Russian Federation, laureates of all-Russian and international competitions, internationally renowned outstanding singers that perform on the best opera stages of Europe, the USA, and Latin America.

Facilities and resources. The Academy has all the necessary training facilities and resources to ensure high quality of the educational process: specially equipped classrooms for individual and practical classes in special disciplines, computer classes, the library and record library collections that are regularly replenished, a reading hall with internet access, eight concert halls equipped with state-of-the-art recording and video equipment that ensures high-quality recording of concerts.

Research. The departments actively conduct music research. Research interests include leading Russian singing teachers’ experience, modern vocal techniques, vocal basics.

Education. Academic activity is maintained at a high level thanks to creative and concert performance activities. Students regularly attend concerts of modern outstanding performers, master classes of well-known Russian and opera voice teachers, participate in all-Russian and international competitions, undertake teaching, performance and research internships. The best students undertake their performance internship in musical and opera theaters of Moscow with further employment opportunities. The Opera Studio Theater named after Yu.A. Speransky provides practical training for students (more than 30 opera performances annually). 

Employment possibilities. Many of the graduates are employed in the Moscow Musical Theater Helikon-Opera, the State Chapel of Moscow named after V.A. Sudakov, the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Music Theater, the Novaya Opera Moscow Theater named after E.V. Kolobov, the State Bolshoi Theater of Russia, the Mariinsky Theater as well as in opera and musical theaters of the country (Vladikavkaz, Krasnodar, Novosibirsk, Perm, Niznny Novgorod, and other cities). Some graduates are successfully employed abroad (Germany, France, Italy, Spain, etc.).

Strategic partners. The Bolshoi Theater of Russia, the Helikon-Opera Moscow Musical Theater, the Kolobov Novaya Opera Moscow Theater, the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Music Theater, the Song and Dance Ensemble of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Russian Federation, the Sudakov State Chapel of Moscow, etc. The Faculty of Vocal Studies maintains international relations and professional contacts with conservatories of Russia. The teachers participate in international conferences, give numerous master classes in Italy, France, Germany, Armenia, Lithuania, Finland, Japan, China, Spain, Greece, and Brazil.